Section 3.—Federal and Provincial Co-ordinating Committees

During the two-year period of preparation for the "Resources for Tomorrow" Conference of October 1961, the Federal Government and all provincial governments established interdepartmental committees of departments concerned with natural resources. Subsequent to the Conference, most of these committees continued—usually in an altered form—to meet the newly emerging need for co-ordination among departments for the implementation of the ARDA program. The committees are as follows.

Federal Government.—The Federal Interdepartmental Co-ordinating Committee, comprised of the Ministers of eight departments—Agriculture, Forestry, Fisheries, Finance, Labour, Industry, Citizenship and Immigration, and Northern Affairs and National Resources. The Interdepartmental Advisory Committee for ARDA, comprised of the Deputy Ministers of these Departments. In practice, co-ordination in detail is achieved through sub-committees or ad hoc committees.

Newfoundland.—ARDA Co-ordinating Committee, comprised of four Deputy Ministers of the resource departments and education.

Prince Edward Island.—The Ministerial Committee for ARDA, comprised of the Premier and Ministers of the resource and tourist development, education, and municipal affairs departments. The Deputy Ministerial Committee for ARDA, comprised of the Deputy Ministers of resource and education departments. County ARDA Committee.

Nova Scotia.—The Resources Development Co-ordinating Committee, comprised of four Deputy Ministers of the agriculture, municipal affairs, lands and forests and attorney general departments, and four senior officials. The Inter-departmental ARDA Committee, comprised of 21 senior officials of the resource, planning and social service departments, ARDA Departmental Committees of the departments of agriculture and lands and forests.

New Brunswick.—Provincial ARDA Committee, comprised of eight Deputy Ministers of the agriculture, lands and mines, fisheries, industry, labour, public works, municipal affairs and youth and welfare departments, the General Manager of the Electric Power Commission, an officer of the Research and Productivity Council, an economic adviser, and two federal officials as consultants.

Quebec.—An interdepartmental committee composed of five Ministers; the ARDA Administration; the Permanent Committee for Resource Development, composed of the Minister of Agriculture and Colonization and the Deputy Ministers of Agriculture and Colonization, Industry and Commerce, Natural Resources, Tourism, Fish and Game, Lands and Forests, and Municipal Affairs; the Economic Planning Council of Quebec, composed of five regular and five associate members selected from the senior officers of the government.

Ontario.—An ARDA Directorate established under the Agricultural Rehabilitation and Development Act of Ontario (1962-63) consists of ten Deputy Ministers or senior officers from seven departments and the University of Guelph. The Directorate reports to the Government of Ontario through the Minister of Agriculture.

Manitoba.—The Manitoba Development Authority is comprised of the Premier, four Ministers, five Deputy Ministers and an Executive Secretary. A Deputy Ministers' Committee on Rural Development and ARDA. A Technical Committee to carry out the instructions of the Deputy Ministers' Committee. Advisory Committees to the Deputy Ministers on Rural Development, Land Use and Soil and Water Conservation.

Saskatchewan.—The Committee on Agricultural and Renewable Resources Development, comprised of the Deputy Ministers of the Departments of Agriculture, Natural Resources, Municipal Affairs, and Education, and a representative of the Water Resources Commission. The Committee is chaired by the Secretary of the Economic Advisory and Planning Board.

Alberta.—The Alberta ARDA Co-ordinating Committee, comprised of the Deputy Ministers of four resource departments, the Director of Lands, and the ARDA Co-ordinator. The Alberta ARDA Advisory Committee, comprised of 14 senior provincial officials of various resource departments and two federal officials.

British Columbia.—The Ministerial Committee for ARDA, comprised of three Ministers representing five natural resources departments. Deputy Ministers Committee for ARDA, comprised of the Deputy Ministers of five resource departments.